change hard drives (?)
- This topic is empty.
January 9, 2009 at 12:34 am #13717
my friend wants to change his hard drive , but i read on some forums about people who'd lost their trophies afterwards.. has anybody changed their hard drive ? any problems with trophy support ? or anything else for that matter ? (i dont really need to , but then again ….)January 9, 2009 at 12:39 am #20281edge4eva32Member
trophies are added to your psn account. not your harddrive. make sure your friend backs up all his saved data before he removes the old hdd and install the new one. after the new hdd is in then your friend needs to restore all the saved data to the new hdd.January 9, 2009 at 4:07 pm #20297shadeblackParticipant
the only reason you would lose your trophies is if you forgot the exact username and password for your psn account. you need to ensure you keep note of your psn account… im not saying write it down because you should never write down any of your digital passwords.
Anyway, another thing to note is not to change your psn account… try not to change the password unless you NEED to, and don't change your e-mail address (the username of your psn account) either because it can cause a recent, and well documented problem with trophy synchronisation.
so if you don't change your psn account, nothing bad can theoretically happen.January 10, 2009 at 12:38 pm #20309
thanks …. i'll let him do it first , nothing like test (hard) drive… if it works i guess i will too…January 10, 2009 at 12:42 pm #20310
trophies are added to your psn account. not your harddrive. make sure your friend backs up all his saved data before he removes the old hdd and install the new one. after the new hdd is in then your friend needs to restore all the saved data to the new hdd.
i thought so , but then they must also be on your hdd , as you can check them when you're not connected…January 11, 2009 at 2:48 pm #20338jamesb5374Member
The reason it appears that you lose your trophies is they seem to disappear when you restart with a new hdd. it happened to me, but when you play your games again, they will reappear. It would work with a sync I guess aswell, I only had two trophy games when I changed mine!January 11, 2009 at 2:52 pm #20340
ok… wont panick straight away if that happens,,will wait for a few seconds….lol.January 12, 2009 at 5:46 pm #20352Teeth69_2009Member
i done it easy as got 320gb i hav few trophies 299 so all i did is upload it to server and then when u put in the hard drive up[load them bak on easy after u go on a game trophies start cumin up random that u already hav quit the game and upload agen shud work cause there not saved on hard drive thr network “make sure u sync to server thats wot i mean by upload” ! or wont workJanuary 15, 2009 at 11:19 pm #20419Ps3 FreakMember
What do you think the “sync with server” button is for…
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Comments are Closed